Regional Council 13 becomes Nakonha:ka

So many changes have occurred in the structure of the United Church of Canada in recent years, it can be hard to keep track! The churches in the Montreal area used to be part of Montreal Presbytery, until that merged with Quebec-Sherbrooke Presbytery to become Consistoire du Quebec Presbytery. QP merged (more or less) with Consistoire Laurentien to become Regional Council 13, which included the majority of Quebec communities of faith, the exceptions being Gatineau, which went with Regional Council 12 (Eastern Ontario Outaouais ), and Gaspe, which stayed with parts of the Maritimes in Region 14. Regional Council 13 also gained many First Nations communities which were formally a part of All Native Circle.
The new Regional Councils replaced all of the Presbyteries and Conferences that we used to be part of. Now the church regions are geographical, with no cultural or linguistic exceptions. The number 13 was only ever a temporary designation until the members could vote on a new name for the regional council. This happened in November 2018, when representatives of the constituent communities chose the name Conseil régional Nakonha:ka Regional Council. The name is Mohawk and translates as “in the Eastern” or “People of the East”.
Rosemary Lambie is Executive Minister for Regions 11, 12 and 13.
Regional Council Pastoral Relations Minister for Nakonha:ka is Sabrina Di Stefano.
Communications and Administration Assistant for Nakonha:ka is Judy Coffin. 
Archives Manager for Nakonha:ka ise Beverly Anderson-Levine.
Brian Ruse is in charge of Financial Administration for the region.
Our Regional Council also has a full-time Minister supporting Youth and Young Adults (YAYA):  Shanna Bernier 

For more on the structure of the United Church of Canada, visit the UCC website by clicking below: